Mil-spec O-ring family, nitrile, improved-performance hydraulic
M83461/1 O-rings: nitrile to MIL-P-83461, now AMS-P-83461 and AS83461/1
M83461/1-XXX specifies a nitrile (NBR) O-ring for petroleum hydraulic fluid with improved performance over the MS28775 family, in the AS568 size the dash names; the governing MIL-P-83461 and its size sheet MIL-P-83461/1 were cancelled on 2003-10-01 and superseded by SAE-AMS-P-83461 (the material, issued 1998) and SAE-AS83461/1 (the drawing, current at revision C of 2021-11-08, titled Packing, Preformed, M83461 O-ring).
- Polymer
- Nitrile (NBR)petroleum hydraulic fluid
- Durometer
- 75as manufacturers supply it
- Current drawing
- SAE-AS83461/1C2021-11-08
- QPL
- None on recordMIL document cancelled
Specification: documents, status, material
| Item | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| MIL material document | MIL-P-83461: Canceled 2003-10-01 (inactivated 1997-12-31), superseded by SAE-AMS-P-83461 | DLA ASSIST ident 33813, read 2026-09-06 |
| MIL size sheet | MIL-P-83461/1: Canceled 2003-10-01, superseded by SAE-AMS-P-83461/1 | DLA ASSIST ident 33814, read 2026-09-06 |
| SAE material document | SAE-AMS-P-83461: Issued 1998-04-01 | SAE Mobilus, read 2026-09-06 |
| Current drawing | SAE-AS83461/1, Packing, Preformed, M83461 O-ring: current AS83461/1C, 2021-11-08 | SAE Mobilus, read 2026-09-06 |
| Base polymer | Nitrile (NBR) | document titles |
| Durometer | Manufacturers supply this family at 75 (ParkerĀ® ORD 5700 (2021) Table 8-4 lists its compound in the 70 to 80 band); confirm the durometer against your print | Parker ORD 5700 (2021) |
| Service temperature | The document title carries its own service temperature; we cite the document and quote no figure on this page | document title |
| Slash sheets | /1 = standard AS568 sizes (three-digit dash); /2 = boss sizes (two-digit dash, AS568-9YY) | manufacturers' cross-references |
| Boss variant | M83461/2-YY, mapping to AS568-9YY | manufacturers' cross-references |
| QPL | None on record for the cancelled MIL document; AMS-P-83461 not stated | DLA ASSIST and SAE Mobilus, read 2026-09-06 |
| Service | Petroleum hydraulic fluid, improved performance (the document title) | document title |
| Compounds manufacturers pair with this document | Parker ORD 5700 (2021) Table 8-3 and Table 8-4 pair N0756-75 with MIL-P-83461 and AMS-P-83461 | Parker ORD 5700 (2021) |
Status strings are quoted as DLA ASSIST and SAE Mobilus print them (Canceled is ASSIST's spelling; Inactive means inactive for new design; Withdrawn is SAE's word). Conquest Seal is a distributor and is not itself listed on any qualified products list.
Designator to AS568 size
M83461/1-XXX is the AS568-XXX size; the same dash on the AMS-P-83461/1 callout is the same size. The /2 sheet carries the two-digit boss dash, M83461/2-YY, which maps to AS568-9YY. Both mappings come from the manufacturers' cross-references, not from the document text.
| M83461/1 | AS83461/1 | AS568 dash | ID in | W in | ID mm | W mm |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| M83461/1-006 | AS83461/1-006 | AS568-006 | 0.114 | 0.070 | 2.90 | 1.78 |
| M83461/1-010 | AS83461/1-010 | AS568-010 | 0.239 | 0.070 | 6.07 | 1.78 |
| M83461/1-012 | AS83461/1-012 | AS568-012 | 0.364 | 0.070 | 9.25 | 1.78 |
| M83461/1-112 | AS83461/1-112 | AS568-112 | 0.487 | 0.103 | 12.37 | 2.62 |
| M83461/1-114 | AS83461/1-114 | AS568-114 | 0.612 | 0.103 | 15.54 | 2.62 |
| M83461/1-116 | AS83461/1-116 | AS568-116 | 0.737 | 0.103 | 18.72 | 2.62 |
| M83461/1-210 | AS83461/1-210 | AS568-210 | 0.734 | 0.139 | 18.64 | 3.53 |
| M83461/1-214 | AS83461/1-214 | AS568-214 | 0.984 | 0.139 | 24.99 | 3.53 |
| M83461/1-222 | AS83461/1-222 | AS568-222 | 1.484 | 0.139 | 37.69 | 3.53 |
| M83461/1-325 | AS83461/1-325 | AS568-325 | 1.475 | 0.210 | 37.47 | 5.33 |
Millimeter values are converted from the inch table. The dash is a size lookup and never a material; the same dash on another family on the mil-spec hub is the same size in a different document. Full chart: AS568 size chart.
Where the documents stand
MIL-P-83461 was written as the improved-performance successor to MIL-P-25732 for petroleum hydraulic fluid, and the 1989 notice in QPL-25732 named it as the new-design replacement for the MS28775 material. DLA ASSIST records MIL-P-83461 inactivated on 1997-12-31 and cancelled on 2003-10-01, superseded by SAE-AMS-P-83461, which SAE had issued on 1998-04-01. The size sheet MIL-P-83461/1 was cancelled the same day in favor of SAE-AMS-P-83461/1, and the drawing now lives as SAE-AS83461/1, revised to C on 2021-11-08 with the title Packing, Preformed, M83461 O-ring.
So a print that reads M83461/1-214 is quoted against AS83461/1 for the size and AMS-P-83461 for the material. The callout did not change; only the documents behind it moved from DLA to SAE.
The base polymer
The polymer behind this family is nitrile (NBR). The Parker O-Ring Handbook ORD 5700 family range on file for Buna-N (NBR) is -34 C to 100 C; that is the polymer family's range, not this document's requirement, and the compound sheet for the qualified grade governs. Parker notes that specification temperature limits do not necessarily represent operating temperature limits.
Material page: Nitrile (NBR) O-rings. Temperature ranges by family: O-ring temperature ranges.
How we quote this family
Send the designator as printed, M83461/1-XXX or AS83461/1-XXX, with the dash, the quantity and the certification the order needs. The quote reads: supplied against AMS-P-83461 and the AS83461/1 drawing, in the nitrile compound the document calls for, with a certificate of conformance and lot traceability. A two-digit dash means the /2 boss sheet; send it the same way. If the print names a compound number, include it.
Related pages
Other families: MS28775, M83248/1 and M83248/2, M83485/1, M25988/1, /2, /3 and /4, MS29513 and MS29512, NAS1611 and NAS1612, AS3582, AS9386 and AS9385, AS3209 and AS3208.
Frequently asked
What is M83461/1 and how does it differ from MS28775?
M83461/1 is the improved-performance petroleum hydraulic nitrile O-ring, made to MIL-P-83461/1 and now to SAE-AMS-P-83461 with SAE-AS83461/1 as the drawing. MS28775 is the older nitrile in the same service under MIL-PRF-25732. Both use the AS568 dash for size, so M83461/1-214 and MS28775-214 are one size in two documents. Quote the one the print names.
Is MIL-P-83461 still active?
No. DLA ASSIST lists MIL-P-83461 as cancelled on 2003-10-01, superseded by SAE-AMS-P-83461, and the size sheet MIL-P-83461/1 cancelled the same day in favor of SAE-AMS-P-83461/1. The current drawing is SAE-AS83461/1C of 2021-11-08. The part number stays on drawings and is still a valid callout.
What does the /2 in M83461/2 mean?
The slash sheet on this family is the size sheet: /1 covers the standard AS568 sizes with a three-digit dash, and /2 covers the straight-thread boss sizes with a two-digit dash that maps to AS568-9YY. Both are the same nitrile material under AMS-P-83461. The mapping is taken from the manufacturers' cross-references.
What compound is an M83461/1 O-ring?
A nitrile (NBR) compound qualified to AMS-P-83461 (formerly MIL-P-83461). Parker ORD 5700 (2021) pairs its N0756-75 with both documents in its specification tables, in the 70 to 80 hardness band. We quote the part in the compound the document calls for and name the manufacturer on the certification.
Does M83461/1 have a QPL?
Not on record. The cancelled MIL-P-83461 shows no qualified products list on its DLA ASSIST record, and SAE's AMS-P-83461 page does not state one. Manufacturers produce to the document and certify to it; we supply the part with that certificate of conformance.
Related guides
Sources
DLA ASSIST document details, idents 33813 (MIL-P-83461) and 33814 (MIL-P-83461/1), read 2026-09-06; SAE Mobilus: AMSP83461 (issued 1998-04-01), AS83461/1C (2021-11-08), read 2026-09-06; Parker O-Ring Handbook ORD 5700 (2021), Tables 8-3 and 8-4, for the compound pairing; Manufacturers' aerospace cross-references (2024) for the /1 standard and /2 boss dash split; AS568 dimensions from this site's size chart. Facts are stated in our own words and our own arrangement; no standard's text or table and no manufacturer's cross-reference table is reproduced. Compound pairings are the named manufacturer's published statements, not qualified products list entries.
Parker is a trademark of Parker Hannifin Corporation. No affiliation or endorsement is implied.
Need M83461/1 with certification?
Send the designator as the print reads it, the dash, the quantity and the paperwork the order needs. A Conquest representative replies with the part quoted against the document.
Request a quoteLast updated
